The name, Jamison, is inspired from the location on Jamison Square Park. Offering the best outdoor dining experience in the city, the park is named in honor of William Jamison, a well-known Portland art dealer who passed away in 1995. William Jamison was pivotal in the development of Portland’s River District and in founding “First Thursday,” Portland’s monthly, art-focused street fair.
Most of the interior takes inspiration from a series of barns that were being torn down not far from the restaurant. As the Schmidt Brothers Pellet Mill, the barns were an integral farm to the local community. Jamison takes great pride in being able to have salvaged the majority of the barn wood and much of the farming equipment. Together with a beautiful example of modern Pearl District architecture, Jamison is the quintessential Pearl District dining experience.A Brief History of: Schmidt Bros. Pellet Mill
In 1955 at the age of 30 and 32, Otto and Paul began construction of the feed mill. A small grain elevator and storage bins were erected over a hammer-mill.
By 1959 the mill buildings and feed pelleting plant was complete and in operation.
It became apparent to Paul & Otto that there was a significant demand for the processing available in their feed plant. Schmidt Bros. Pellet Mill became a commercial operation specializing in custom milling and the manufacture and sale of a line of specially formulated feed pellets for dairy farms, feedlots, show horses and livestock of all forms. The Pellet Mill ran for 40 years, then was abandoned when Paul retired.
Below are a series of photos collected immediately prior of the disassembly and salvage of the old buildings in the fall of 2011. These boards and beams are the result of that salvage operation.